About STEA

Photo courtesy of Fetlock Photos

STEA was formed to promote competition, training, and general improvement in the sport of Eventing in Southern Tasmania.
Our home ground is the Tasmanian Equestrian Centre at Lauderdale, a 300-acre equestrian facility which we share with the southern branch of the Tasmanian Show Jumping Association, Dressage Tasmania, and Hobart & Districts Pony Club (H&D).
STEA co-manages the cross-country course at this venue which we use for competition as well as training, the course is closed to all non-STEA and H&D members over the winter period.
STEA facilitates ETAS member entries for all Southern Zone Pony Club run One Day Events and co-hosts at least 2 Official ODE’s per Eventing season with the Hobart & Districts Pony Club.
We independently host the State Eventing Championships bi-annually, and the Southern Eventing Championships on alternative years.
In alignment with our philosophy to promote the general improvement in the sport of Eventing, STEA facilitates training days including Show Jumping and Cross Country, and we encourage our members to attend the monthly dressage training days which are offered by Dressage Tasmania Southern Zone.
STEA membership is aligned with the financial year, we offer Single Adult, Single Junior, Family and Social Memberships. Our members agree to contribute 2 days of volunteer work as a condition of membership.
STEA membership means you are also a member of the Tasmanian Eventing Association (T.E.A).
All riders competing in EvA80 grade must be at least a Participant Member of EA. Riders entering EvA95 and above must be full members of EA. For full insurance including personal accident coverage, riders need to become a full member of EA.
Our Philosophy
Our purpose is to promote competition and general improvement in the sport of Horse Trials in Southern Tasmania, and to encourage and grow participation and general improvement through the facilitation of training and a positive club culture.
The wellbeing of the horse is paramount and is above the demands of trainers, riders, owners, organisers, sponsors, and officials.


2023/24 Committee

President (Acting)
Cathy Youl  
Vice President Cathy Youl  
Treasurer Rachel Isaac  
Cathy Youl [email protected]
Events Krystal Hall  
  Aleasha Carloss   
Membership Krystal Hall  
  Aleasha Carloss  
Working Bee Coordinator Olivia Brennan  
Social Media / Communications Officer Elli Portlock  
Training Co-ordinator Elli Portlock  
TEA Reps  Cathy Youl  
  Krystle Hall  
TEC Rep Narelle Rowlandson   
 Felicia McShane  
  Hannah Isaac  
  Leanne Brennan   
  Sarah Millhouse  
  Pip Godfrey  

Honorary Life Members 

  • Sue Goldfinch 
  • Jenny Marwood  
  • Jill Hart